‘Just close your eyes
The sun is going down
You’ll be alright
No one can hurt you now
Come morning light
You and I’ll be safe and sound’

Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars created a song for The Hunger Games.  The songs goes with the movie really nicely as a kind of lullaby and comfort to the characters in the movie.  I first heard the song ‘Safe & Sound’ before I had seen the movie.  I thought of it as a pretty song, kind of sad sounding, like a lullaby.  I was looking forward to watching the music video and then after teh song was over on the radio, they announced that it was in The Hunger Games.  I couldn’t quite make the connection yet but once I saw the movie, it made complete sense.  The song is supposed to sound like a nostalgic lullaby, to remember a time before tragedy yet still provide comfort.  Words in the song make connections to specific parts in the movie and the books as well.  The music video is great as well, beautifully edited with great airy scene and Taylor’s flow-y dress add to the memory aspect.  There is a visual connection in the video to the movie; the Mockingjay pin that Katniss gives to her younger sister makes an appearance in the old burned down house.  At the bottom is the link to ‘Safe & Sound’.

music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhdNG_ebbTg

