On September 15, Holy Hill held their 38th annual art fair.  I had never been to Holy Hill before but I was told that it was really beautiful, so I was excited to go.  And being a artsy creative person an art fair sounded like a perfect way to end the afternoon.  I thought I’d go look at some art, get inspired and then be able to create some of my own.

Turns out that there were hundreds of people there.  I didn’t think that so many people would opt to spend their Saturday just looking at art (it turns out that there were no crafting tents).  I was really excited to see so many people there and to be able to view all of the art.  People were showcasing the expected paintings, drawings and photography.  But some art I didn’t expect to see was glass work, metal work and wood work.  I saw cheese and cracker plates made out of melted wine bottles and a giant freestanding dragonfly made out of metal.  There was also life-sized sculptures of bears made out of whole trunks of trees.  (We ended up leaving with one who was roasting a marshmallow over a wooden fire.  His name is Jimmy).

My favorite tent besides the one with the bears was a metal works tent.  They weren’t making anything on site, but they were selling their products.  The interesting thing is that they didn’t use raw materials for their pieces, they used old silverware.  They made bracelets and rings out of bent and twisted forks.  They had business card holders and kokopelli people.  And they also had a religious aspect to their work as well being at Holy Hill.  The made crosses out o f butter knives and forks and then they made angels out of spoons (pictured below).  I ended up buying one of the spoon angels, it was just clever and quirky and still made sense.
After we were finished browsing the tents, my aunt and I decided to trek up the hill and climb to the top of one of the towers.  It was approximately 178 steps to the top and being on a hill we ended up being pretty high.  The view was spectacular from the top.  We could see for miles in each direction.  And being at the top of the  Basilica in Hubertus I could see the building in Milwaukee faintly in the distance.  That is about 40 miles of uninterrupted sight.  It was beautiful.

 

