Tags

, , , ,

I have seen many posts saying how you can draw your own designs on a plate, bowl or mug and simply bake it in the oven and the design will stay, not rub off, is food safe and can be washed.  All of these things seem a bit far fetched since we are talking about the pre-fired, smooth, sealed surface on a ceramic dish.  As I read through the pin details, it appeared that people were having success with it and seemed easy enough to try.

mug6mug4 mug3mug5

STEP 1: Go get some dishes.  I bought 4 white ceramic mugs from Wal-Mart (about $2 a piece).

STEP 2: Decide on a design/theme.  I chose to do an icon or logo from four big movie series; Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Star Trek and Star Wars.

STEP 3: Use your Dry-Erase marker to draw on your design (this marker wipes off easily if you make a mistake and pencil will not show up on the surface.)

STEP 4: Draw over the Dry-Erase marker design with the Permanent marker, but be careful, this can smudge even though it is permanent.

STEP 5: Place your mug into an oven heated at 350 degrees and bake the dish for 30 minutes

STEP 6: Admire your work!

Pinner’s Notes:  I found out that the marker is really easy to rub off before you bake it, so if you do a double sided design, you can do half, bake it then finish the second half and bake it again.  I had one reservation about these mugs; will they still have their design if you wash the dish?  YES!  The design stays on if you hand wash them, carefully.  The design will scratch off if you let it.  I do not know if there is a way to seal the design onto the mug, I am looking and will update if and when I find something.

mug1amug4a
mug3a
mug2a

