Tags

, , , ,

‘Google It!’ – this has become a very popular new ‘verb’ over the past years.  Everyone can just type in a word or phrase and google will search the web for the closest matching results.  One thing that I recently learned, but is apparently common knowledge, is that you can do a ‘reverse image search’ on Google.  All you have to do is have the image on your computer and upload it into the Reverse Image search bar and ‘google it’.  Link here: http://images.google.com/imghp?hl=en Go to the link and simply click on the camera icon in the search bar.  It will then prompt you to upload your photo to be searched for.

unnamed

It works really well, in my limited experience.  Google finds websites, blog posts and galleries that the photo you are searching for appears in (with the most relevant listed first).   I was looking for a photo that I pulled from Pinterest, trying to find the original source for the image.  The reverse search gave me a few different blogs and places to try and I was able to locate the original content for the image and figure out what I needed from there.  Now this might not always work for some images as some are re-posted and used often, you may have to sift through a ton of results.  But most images should be pretty easily found.

